Outreachy Internship - Introducing myself

Outreachy Internship - Introducing myself

Introduction

Hi there,

My name is Levai Mackenzie Ágbàrà, I am Geoscientist and a Frontend Web Developer from Nigeria. I am currently a Common Workflow Language Intern in Outreachy, and I am excited about this internship opportunity, the skills I'm going to develop during this period, and the experience in general. I wrote my first line of code in December 2021, on my mobile device, and I am amazed at how much progress I have made.

I have interests in Web3 and Artificial Intelligence. I also like literature, drawing, and video games.

Core Values

My three core values are:

  • Grit

  • Discipline

  • Resilience

At the beginning of this year, I tweeted that my major goal for the year was to get an internship by the end of this year. When I tweeted that, I was still learning the basics of HTML/CSS, and I honestly did not know how I was going to achieve that. I joined KodeCamp's Bootcamp for Frontend Development, and they had us watch a video on grit for our first task, and I'm glad I did that because it's part of what has gotten me to this point.

I like to make sure I do everything to the best of my ability, besides, you never know who is watching.

I have had major setbacks this year, plus a lot of rejection emails, and I haven't let that deter me. Each time, I say "On to the next one", because I know there are a lot of opportunities out there, and surely I'm going to end up getting one of them, and I know I'll make the most of it.

Why Outreachy?

I applied to Outreachy because it seemed like a great opportunity for me. I get to work with amazing mentors and learn from them for three months, I get to meet new people from all over the world, and I get paid as well. Additionally, I like the idea of working in an environment where everyone is professional, and where I can comfortably be myself. Here, everyone uses my name, and the correct pronouns to address me. Also, I recently started contributing to Open Source, and the Outreachy contribution stage helped me get more comfortable with GitHub.